Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join
Annual General Meeting 2019 Report
Share |

Pour la version en français, veuillez appuyer ici.


Annual General Meeting 2019


On behalf of CAFC President Chief Ken Block; co-Chairs of the Resolutions, Nominations and Bylaws Committee, Chief Jason Whiteley and Assistant Deputy Chief Dean Colthorp we would like to provide you with a preliminary debrief from Fire Rescue Canada and the annual general meeting 2019. The minutes of the AGM will be available shortly.


First, it is a pleasure to announce the 2019-2020 Board of Directors for the CAFC! 


  • CAFC President, Chief Ken Block, (Edmonton Alberta)
  • Chief Kerri Martens (Canmore, Alberta)
  • Chief Ken McMullen (Red Deer, Alberta),
  • Chief Vince McKenzie (Grand Falls Windsor, Newfoundland)
  • Chief Daniel Perron (Verchères, Quebec),
  • Chief Dan McCoy (Rothesay, New Brunswick)
  • Chief John McKearney (Whistler, British Columbia),
  • Chief Peter Krich (ex Officio as Chair of the National Advisory Council)


Second, it is our pleasure to share with you the results of the call for resolutions:


(1)  Two resolutions were presented in advance of the AGM and were passed with unanimous support. Thank you to Chief Perron and Scott Wilkinson. You can view them here.

(2)  We were also pleased that two additional resolutions were proposed by Chief Kim Ayotte, and Chief Tim Armstrong. You will find the language for these resolution here. Both passed with unanimous support.


Third, a number of association business items were covered while we were gathered in Calgary:

  1. In advance of Fire Rescue Canada, the CAFC Board and NAC held close to 17 hours of meetings to map out the way forward for 2019-2020. The notes from these meetings are currently being collated. You will hear more about this and have a chance to comment on our plans shortly.
  2. We launched the Answer the Call webpage and the Chiefs Chat Room. Thank you to Chief Vince MacKenzie (Grand Falls Windsor, Newfoundland) and Chief Ihor Holowczinsky (Winnipeg, MB), and Chief Phil Rowe (Vegreville,) (Surrey, BC) for their leadership on these projects.
  3. Chief Dan McCoy (Kennebecasis, NB) stepped down as Chair of the National Advisor Council, and and Chief Peter Chris (AB), and Chief Rick Arnel (Essex, ON) were each asked to take over as Chair and Vice Chair of the National Advisory Council respectively.  
  4. We had a town hall with excellent discussion on committee, you can find the committee reports here


Finally, to all who attended, supported, sent staff, or spoke at Fire Rescue Canada, thank you and a special thank you to the Bayley Group, Chief Ken McMullen our extraordinary MC, and Chief Rob Evans (Redwood Meadows, AB) for the amazing photography.




Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal