Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join
Current Awards
Share |

Fire Underwriters Survey & 

the CAFC National Awards 2017 Recipients  



Career Fire Chief of the Year 2017

Fire Chief Tim Armstrong

New Westminster Fire & Rescue Service

Volunteer Fire Chief of the Year 2017

Fire Chief Alain Nadeau

La Brocquerie Fire Department



Vancouver, British Columbia, September 29, 2017

The 2017 Fire Chief of the Year awards were announced during the Awards Gala at the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs’ annual conference, Fire-Rescue Canada, held in Vancouver, British Columbia

"Both of our Fire Chiefs of the Year are mandated to protect the lives and property of their citizens.  To do so effectively, they must be committed to training, public education, appropriate equipment and a constant drive to find ever-better ways of doing things” CAFC’s President, Fire Chief Ken Block observed.  "More than anything else,” he added, "they have equally shown themselves to be true leaders.”

There are 3,500 fire departments in Canada and 108,000 firefighting personnel.   Volunteers comprise 91 per cent of all departments and 77 per cent of total personnel.

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal