Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join
2020 National Fire Chief of the Year Awards


Pour la version en français, veuillez appuyer ici


 Click here to submit a nomination!


Each year, the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs (CAFC) recognizes men and women who promote the fire services in Canada. During CAFC’s annual conference, Fire-Rescue Canada, a select number of Fire Chiefs representing the fire services industry will be recognized by the CAFC and Fire Underwriters Survey for their outstanding contribution. Fire Underwriters Survey is the sponsor of these prestigious national awards.


Nominations open – Thursday June 25, 2020
Nominations close - Wednesday, August 12, 2020
Notification of decisions - Friday, August 28, 2020


Volunteer Fire Chief 
Full Time Career Fire Chief

The candidates chosen for the Fire Chief of the Year Awards will be presented with a plaque or suitable object of recognition designed and presented by Fire Underwriters Survey at Fire-Rescue Canada. A monetary award will be also contributed in the names of the award winners to further programs in their individual communities. The award winners will be asked to choose the program that he or she would like to support.

Individuals who are eligible for nomination and selection for Awards of Excellence must be active Chiefs in full time career or volunteer positions with the fire services in Canada.  
Those individuals who have recently retired (i.e. within 2020) will also be considered.  
One from each category will be chosen. 

When submitting a nomination online, the nominator will be asked to include the following:

  • description of why this individual is Canada’s Fire Chief of the Year (five sentences in lay terms)
  • a summary of the reason for which this individual should be given the award (such as metrics, outcomes, impact and/or innovation)
  • one (1) page description of work in one of the thematic areas – see below for theme areas
  • either one (1) letter of staff support or three contact names as references (optional)
  • either one (1) letter of council support or contact information of council reference (optional)


Impact ● Innovation ● Transformation ● Mentorship/Education  ● Public Safety Contribution ● Resource Management/Fundraising ● Partnership/Coalition Development ● Event or series of events ● Length of tenure and what happened in that tenure ● Recruitment and retention of volunteers ● Diversity and inclusion in department ●Precedent setting ● Emergency Management/Pandemic Response

Nominations will only be accepted online.
All nomination must include a clear, concise, and succinct narrative description of the candidates’ achievements or contributions. Additional background information may be attached
An independent panel of judges, drawn from the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs and Fire Underwriters Survey will adjudicate the nominations.  

Candidates must have made outstanding contributions to the betterment of their community and of the fire services industry over several years in areas such as safety, sustainable community program development, education, community service or policy development.


Candidates must have achieved, through their innovation and initiative on a particular project or program, positive and measurable improvement of significant and enduring benefit to the fire services industry and their community.

For questions regarding the 2020 National Fire Chiefs of the Year Awards, please contact Sally Clelford at


Click here to submit a nomination!

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal