Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join
Fire Chief of the Year Awards
Share |



Pour la version en français, veuillez appuyer ici.


Fire Chief of the Year Awards 2019


For many years, the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs (CAFC) and Fire Underwriters Survey (FUS) have sponsored Canada’s Fire Chief of the Year Awards.


These awards are a wonderful opportunity to recognize excellence in the fire sector. It’s a delight to hear from municipalities and it’s a general celebration for the sector.


The Awards are presented at Fire Rescue Canada 2019.


For 2019, CAFC and FUS proposed changes to the application process to make it easier for applicants and clearer for adjudicators. 


 What changes are have been made to the application process?


The application has been shortened, simplified and differentiates baseline information from the items that will be adjudicated.


Below is a description of what is requested in each section. 


(1) Baseline section:

·      The name of the candidate

·      That he or she is the fire chief of the department

·      Length of tenure in years of service in the role

·      Whether he or she is a volunteer or career Chief – i.e. is the chief a paid chief

·      Is the department a volunteer, career or composite Department  

·      What is the description of the community served

·      Is he or she a member of the CAFC

·      Name of department

·      Consent for CAFC and FUS to advise the nominee that he or she has been nominated

We would also like to know, via the names of three references or a letter of support if:

·      There is evidence of support from the people he or she supervises and leads

·      There is evidence of support of council or the municipality he or she serves



(2) Adjudicated section:  In the adjudicated section, we are looking for attributes and accomplishments that go above and beyond the expected job description for a fire chief.

This will be ascertained through the following:


·      What theme(s) would summarize the reason(s) for which the individual is being nominated?

o          Impact

o          Innovation

o          Inspiration

o          Transformation

o          Mentorship/education

o          Public Safety Contribution

o          Resource Management/Fundraising

o          Partnership/Coalition Development

o          Event or series of events

o          Length of tenure and what happened in that tenure

o          Recruitment and retention of volunteers

o          Diversity and inclusion in department

o          Precedent setting

o          Excellence in labour relations

o          Contributions to health and wellness

o          International/National/provincial/regional impact/contribution

o          Other: Specify


          Awards are officially announced and presented at Fire- Rescue Canada Conference each year.


Individuals who are eligible for nomination and selection for Awards of Excellence must be active Chiefs in a full-time career or volunteer positions with the fire services in Canada.
 One from each category will be selected.

Nomination and Selection

Nominations will only be accepted online.
Nominations must include a clear and succinct narrative description of the candidate’s achievements or contributions.
An independent panel of judges, drawn from the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs and Fire Underwriters Survey will adjudicate the nominations.

The candidates chosen for the Fire Chief of the Year Awards will be presented with an appropriate plaque or suitable object of recognition designed and given by Fire Underwriters Survey at Fire-Rescue Canada Conference.
A $500 monetary award will be made to each of the two awardees.


Please click here to begin a nomination.

Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal