Contact Us   |   Print Page   |   Report Abuse   |   Sign In   |   Join
Women Fire Chiefs and Company Officers Network of Canada
Share |

Pour la version en français, veuillez appuyer ici.      




"Because it’s 2018". In early 2018, the CAFC Board of Directors under the auspices of the CAFC's Diversity and Inclusion Committee [here] established the Women Fire Chiefs and Company Officers Network of Canada. Members are welcomed to refer their colleagues and women fire chiefs and company officers are welcomed to join.


The purpose of this network is to help make the association and the fire service reflect the richness of Canadian society. It will provide policy leadership, mentorship, networking, education and the celebration of female leaders. Its inaugural meeting was held during Fire Rescue Canada 2018. A summary of the meeting will be available shortly along with its plans for 2019.


We are pleased to introduce the founding and inaugural members here.


 “By building that diversity info our fire service and our departments, we will have a better link to the communities we serve.” - Chief Keri Martens  


How to Join the WFCN?


If you are not currently a member of CAFC and wish to join the WFCN, please click here.


All female fire chiefs and company officers who are eligible to join the Canadian Association of Fire Chiefs can join the Network.


Benefits of Membership

  • Members of the WFCN receive all CAFC member benefits
  • Access and provide Education, Mentorship and Support
  • Engage in Policy Development, Leadership and Research
  • Celebrate and advance this emerging area of leadership

Meet the Founding Members


Founding Members

Deputy Fire Chief Keri Martens, Chair

Canmore Fire Rescue

Deputy Fire Chief Laurie Vandeschoot, Co-Chair

Calgary Fire Department

District Chief Shirley Benson

Edmonton Fire Rescue Services

Deputy Fire Chief Amber Coleman

Parkland County Fire Service

Deputy Fire Chief Susan Henry

Calgary Emergency Management Services

Deputy Fire Chief Debbie Higgins

Toronto Fire Service

Retired Chief Cammie Laird


Deputy Fire Chief Linda Masson

Airdrie Fire Department

Assistant Chief Dawn Nash

Strathcona County Emergency Services

Deputy Fire Chief Deryn Rizzi

Vaughn fire & Rescue Service

Fire Chief Judith Unsworth

Wheatland County


Membership Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal